New York State Required Snowmobile Safety Course for Youth 10-16
Anyone who is at least 16 years old may operate a snowmobile in New York State without any other qualification except as defined by state and local laws regulating that operation. However, it is recommended that all operators complete a recognized snowmobile safety course. The Commissioner of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation will issue a snowmobile safety certificate to individuals who successfully complete this course.
A person ages 14 through 16 years old may ONLY operate a snowmobile without adult supervision if they have completed a snowmobile safety training course recognized by the State of New York. A person ages 10 through 13 may operate a snowmobile on lands where snowmobiling is allowed, only if they have completed a recognized NYS snowmobile safety training course and are accompanied by (within 500 feet of) a person who is at least 18 years of age. A person ages 14 through 16 that does not hold this certificate is subject to the same restrictions as children under the age of 14 years.
Children under 10 years old or under age 14 without a safety certificate may ONLY operate a snowmobile on lands owned or leased by their parents or guardians.
The 4-H Youth Development program of Cornell Cooperative Extension Franklin County is offering 2 youth Snowmobile Safety Certification Courses, – Saturday, December 6th at the Visitor Interpretation Center (VIC) in Paul Smiths, and again Saturday, December 13th at JCEO at 19 Webster Street in Malone, NY from 8-5. Youth must attend the eight hour training and pass the exam to receive the certificate. Youth must be 10 years of age and not older than 17 to take the course. Parent or guardian must sign a permission form prior to the course. Cost is $10 per registrant. Lunch provided. Parents do not need to stay with youth. Class size limited to 20. Interested individuals must pre-register by calling the CCE office at 483-7403.
Last updated November 20, 2014